Constructing Grantmaking Strategies in Challenging Times - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

Constructing Grantmaking Strategies in Challenging Times

July 12, 2011 2:00 pm Eastern Time

GIH Health Reform Resource Center 

When: 
Tuesday, July 12, 2011 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 12:00 p.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m. Pacific 

What: 
Many health foundations are operating in regions where the state government is resistant to implementing the Affordable Care Act, and where major cuts to the health care safety net are being proposed or passed. For these funders, it would be useful to share strategies with colleagues from across the country who are in similar positions. 

Should the foundation help build analytic capacity among advocates and foster the development of credible, neutral voices in state and local budget debates? Assist in developing and disseminating messages that resonate with the public and create an imperative for policymakers to act? Fund public awareness and organizing campaigns to implement specific reforms? Work with nonhealth funders so that policies focus on improving well-being overall, rather than creating a zero-sum game among different health and human service providers? 

On this audioconference, participants talked to their colleagues about ideas and efforts to construct short- and long-term grantmaking strategies in challenging times. The discussion was led by Kim VanPelt of St. Luke's Health Initiatives, a Phoenix-based public foundation focused on Arizona health policy and strength-based community development. 

**This audioconference was made possible by generous contributions to the GIH Health Reform Resource Center Fund. For a full list of the foundations that are contributing to the fund, click here.**

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.