How to Talk about Medicaid Expansion in Your State - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

How to Talk about Medicaid Expansion in Your State

June 21, 2013 12:30 pm Eastern Time

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families; Grantmakers Income Security Taskforce; and GIH

Friday, June 21, 2013 at 12:30 p.m. Eastern / 11:30 a.m. Central / 10:30 a.m. Mountain / 9:30 a.m. Pacific


  • Bruce Lesley, First Focus

The Affordable Care Act includes a significant Medicaid expansion, which could provide health insurance coverage to an estimated 17 million low-income adults and children. The Supreme Court ruling made this expansion a state choice. What are the key questions a state should consider when deciding whether to adopt the Medicaid expansion? How can state advocates, business leaders, and others help inform a state’s decisionmaking process? On this webinar, Bruce Lesley of First Focus joined the GIST/GCYF/GIH Communications Collaborative to provide an update on the status of the Medicaid expansion, as well as advice about how funders might improve communication about Medicaid expansion in their states.


Advisory Board Medicaid Map

KidsWell (Atlantic) Campaign National Snapshots

KidsWell Updates on Health Care Reform Changes Impacting Children

Health Reform GPS (RWJF)

State Health Reform Assistance Network

“Medicaid Works” paper examining evidence of the program’s success

Simple, Short and Sweet ACA Messaging for Children

A Lexicon for Children’s Health: Making Children a Priority in Health Reform (Drew Westen for First Focus)

Webinar Archive

Log in to the Funding Partner Portal to access archived webinars.



Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
GIH Connect

Connect with GIH to learn, collaborate, and grow through education, networking, and leadership opportunities.

Sign Up
Sign up for the GIH Bulletin to stay on top of news from the field.

Funding Partner Portal Login
Login to access exclusive Funding Partner resources from GIH.