Engaging Voters to Promote Health - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

Engaging Voters to Promote Health

May 17, 2012 12:30 pm Eastern Time

GIH Public Policy Strategies Audioconference Series

When:
Thursday, May 17
12:30 p.m. Eastern/11:30 a.m. Central/10:30 a.m. Mountain/9:30 a.m. Pacific

Who:
Lindsey Hodel, Service Providers and Civic Engagement Project
Helena Huang, Oregon Voice & Northwest Health Foundation
Geri Mannion, Carnegie Corporation of New York    

Despite unusually high rates of voter participation in the 2008 election, only 60 percent of the nation’s voting-eligible population turned-out at the polls four years ago and an even smaller proportion cast votes in the 2010 mid-term elections. As highlighted in a recent GIH Issue Focus article, health funders can and do have an important role to play in empowering communities through voter engagement efforts. This webinar considered the non-partisan activities that grassroots organizations conduct to increase voter registration and mobilization in traditionally under-represented groups and explored legitimate ways health funders can help support these efforts within existing legal boundaries.

RSVP:             
To register for this call, please send an e-mail to publicpolicy@gih.org. You will receive the call-in number and related materials prior to the event.
 
Please note this audioconference is open only to GIH Funding Partners. While you should feel free to share this notice within your organization, please do not disseminate it to others.

Webinar Archive

Log in to the Funding Partner Portal to access archived webinars.

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.