Investing in Legal Aid to Promote Individual and Population Health - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

Investing in Legal Aid to Promote Individual and Population Health

December 3, 2013 1:30 pm Eastern Time

Tuesday, December 3 at 1:30 p.m. Eastern/12:30 p.m. Central/11:30 a.m. Mountain/10:30 a.m. Pacific

 Featured speakers:

  • Jim Sandman, President, Legal Services Corporation
  • Wendy Yallowitz, Program Officer for Vulnerable Populations, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • Stacey Barbas, Senior Program Officer for Health, The Kresge Foundation
  • Woody Thorne, Vice President, Community Affairs at Southern Illinois Healthcare
  • Ellen Lawton, Director, National Center for Medical-Legal Partnership

Mary McClymont, President, Public Welfare Foundation

For many health funders, investing to help low-income people solve their legal problems is smart, results-oriented philanthropy. Legal aid groups across the country help families secure health care, food, and housing, working to correct bad policy and change how society treats the most vulnerable. Participants learned more about how legal interventions connect to current investment priorities in health philanthropy, especially in an era of health reform.

Additional Information:

National Center for Medical-Legal Partnerships 

Health Consumer Alliance

American Bar Association  

Legal Services Corporation

National Legal Aid and Defender Association

National Center for State Courts

Public Welfare Foundation’s Special Initiative on Civil Legal Aid

Report - Natural Allies: Philanthropy and Civil Legal Aid

Webinar Archive

Log in to the Funding Partner Portal to access archived webinars.



Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
GIH Connect

Connect with GIH to learn, collaborate, and grow through education, networking, and leadership opportunities.

Sign Up
Sign up for the GIH Bulletin to stay on top of news from the field.

Funding Partner Portal Login
Login to access exclusive Funding Partner resources from GIH.