The Relationship between Food Access, Food Insecurity, and Obesity - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

The Relationship between Food Access, Food Insecurity, and Obesity

June 16, 2011 2:00 pm Eastern Time

GIH Healthy Eating/Active Living Audioconference Series   

Thursday, June  16, 2011, at 2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 12:00 p.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m. Pacific   

Christine Olson, Institute of Medicine Workshop Planning Committee, Hunger and Obesity: Understanding a Food Insecurity Paradigm, and Cornell University 
Allison Bauer, The Boston Foundation 

According to the United States Department of Agriculture,  over 17 million U.S. households experienced food insecurity in 2009, meaning they had difficulty providing enough food for all members at some point during the year.  Reasons include financial constraints associated with income and joblessness and limited access to stores with lower prices and a healthy variety of foods.  To dive more deeply into these causes and the complex relationship between food access, food insecurity, and obesity,  the Institute of Medicine (IOM) recently held a workshop titled Hunger and Obesity: Understanding a Food Insecurity Paradigm.   On this webinar, Christine Olson of the workshop’s planning committee examined the evidence connecting food insecurity and food access to obesity.   Allison Bauer shared information on The Boston Foundation’s work related to food access and offered recommendations for addressing food insecurity based on Christine’s remarks. 



Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
GIH Connect

Connect with GIH to learn, collaborate, and grow through education, networking, and leadership opportunities.

Sign Up
Sign up for the GIH Bulletin to stay on top of news from the field.

Funding Partner Portal Login
Login to access exclusive Funding Partner resources from GIH.