Essential Health Benefits: Balancing Coverage and Cost - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

Essential Health Benefits: Balancing Coverage and Cost

November 30, 2011 12:00 pm Eastern Time

GIH Health Reform Audioconference Series

When:

November 30, 2011 at 12:00 pm Eastern/11:00 am Central/10:00 am Mountain/9:00 am Pacific

Who:

  • John Ball, Chair, Determination of Essential Health Benefits Committee, Institute of Medicine
  • Sarah Iselin, President, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Foundation
  • Marian Mulkey, Director, Health Reform and Public Programs, California HealthCare Foundation

What: 

One key piece of the health reform law is the "essential health benefits" package—a set of health care service categories that must be covered by health insurance plans in order for them to be certified and offered in the health insurance exchanges and all Medicaid state plans by 2014. On October 7 the Institute of Medicine released its recommendations about what factors the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services should consider when drawing up the package. These determinations will affect millions of consumers and a variety of stakeholder groups. 

This webinar discussed the report's recommendations, the next steps in the determination process, why this is important to consumers and other stakeholders, including foundations. 

*This webinar was made possible by generous contributions to the GIH Health Reform Resource Center Fund. For a full list of the foundations that are contributing to the fund, click here.* Please note that this webinar is open only to GIH Funding Partners. While you should feel free to share this notice within your organization, please do not disseminate it to others.

 

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.