Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs): An Issue at the Heart of the Food/Ag/Health Nexus - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs): An Issue at the Heart of the Food/Ag/Health Nexus

April 15, 2013 3:00 pm Eastern Time

When:

April 15, 2013 at 3:00 p.m. Eastern/2:00 p.m. Central/1:00 p.m. Mountain/Noon Pacific 

Who:

  • Sarah Bell, 11th Hour Project
  • Doug Gurian-Sherman, Food & Environment Program, Union of Concerned Scientists
  • Terry Ingram, Threlkeld Farm
  • Rebecca Spector,  The Center for Food Safety

What:

Genetically modified organisms (GMO) in food have potential implications for human health, as well as negative effects on justice and food sovereignty. Two issues at the center of GMO debate are farmers' ability to own seeds and consumers' ability to know what is in their food. Despite these important issues, it has not been easy to gain legislative traction around GMOs. This call will share a farmers’ perspective on GMOs, highlight where the science stands and describe why GMOs are a concern for many working in public health. It will debrief outcomes from California's Proposition 37 and highlight other GMO policy initiatives underway around the country. Participants will gain a clear understanding of how this issue exemplifies the possibilities and urgency for working together at the food-ag-health nexus.

RSVP:

To RSVP, please e-mail  huyen@safsf.org by April 12th  

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.