Loading Events
Warning: Uninitialized string offset 0 in /www/grantmakers_271/public/wp-content/plugins/wp-set-condition/public/class-wp-set-condition-public.php on line 226

Details

Date:
Wednesday, February 13, 2013
Time:
2:00 pm EST
Event Category:
Event Tags:

When:

February 13 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern/1:00 p.m. Central/Noon Mountain/11:00 a.m. Pacific

Who:

  • Marion Standish, The California Endowment
  • Ariane Lotti, National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition
  • Brian Snyder, Pennsylvania Association for Sustainable Agriculture
  • Angie Tagtow, Environmental Nutrition Solutions

What:

Short-sighted food safety regulation focused on the immediate public health and food safety concerns of today could have devastating long-term effects and unintended consequences. Steps need to be taken to ensure that such regulations protect public health while also ensuring farmers of diverse scales can stay in business. In 2010, Congress passed the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) — the first major overhaul to our nation’s food safety laws since the 1930s. With the aim of improving food safety, Congress included a number of key provisions to ensure that regulations work for sustainable food and agriculture systems. On this webinar, funders learned how the FSMA and pending FDA regulations will affect local and regional food systems that are vital to the public’s health now and in the future.

 

Share this