It’s Never too Early to Prevent Childhood Obesity - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

It’s Never too Early to Prevent Childhood Obesity

March 31, 2011 1:00 pm Eastern Time

GIH Maternal and Child Health Audioconference Series 

When: 
Tuesday, March 31, 2011, at 1:00 p.m. Eastern / 12:00 p.m. Central / 11:00 a.m. Mountain /10:00 a.m. Pacific 

Who: 
Alison Gertel-Rosenberg, Senior Advisor and Manager, Nemours 
Khanh Nguyen, Program Officer, The Colorado Health Foundation 

What: 
Obesity (and many of the health conditions associated with it, including sleep apnea, hypertension, asthma, and type-2 diabetes) is largely preventable. Yet, it has increased dramatically among children aged two to five years old, with substantial numbers of preschool-age children are at risk for the condition. Additionally, children who are overweight in early childhood have a higher risk of being overweight as adults. Join this audioconference for an overview of promising strategies for intervening as early as possible in efforts to prevent obesity in children. Topics covered will include the necessity of improving feeding and eating practices for young children; reducing television watching and marketing of unhealthy foods to children; and increasing physical activity. Speakers will also discuss opportunities for governments, the private sector, childcare providers, schools, and communities at large to work together to combat childhood obesity.

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
GIH Connect

Connect with GIH to learn, collaborate, and grow through education, networking, and leadership opportunities.

Sign Up
Sign up for the GIH Bulletin to stay on top of news from the field.

Funding Partner Portal Login
Login to access exclusive Funding Partner resources from GIH.