How Early Influences Can Affect Later Outcomes - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

How Early Influences Can Affect Later Outcomes

November 16, 2010 12:00 pm Eastern Time

GIH Mental Health Audioconference Series

When:            
Tuesday, November 16, 2010 at 12:00 p.m., Eastern/ 11:00 a.m. Central/ 10:00 a.m. Mountain/ 9:00 a.m. Pacific  

Who:             
Mrs. Roxane Kaufmann, Director, Early Childhood Policy, Georgetown  University Center for Child and Human Development
Dr. Walter Gilliam, Director, The Edward Zigler Center in Child Development and Social Policy, Yale Child Study Center
Dr. Meghan Guinnee, Catalyst Research

What:             
The first three years of life are a period of incredible growth in all areas of a child's development. Brain development and experiences during this period may set the course for many future behavior patterns. Outcomes can be observed through children's behavior as they attempt to communicate their feelings of wellness, abilities, and/or difficulties that they are having in their home, childcare, preschool, or other settings.  

Most occasional challenging behavior displayed by young children goes away without turning into more serious behavioral concerns. For some children, however, the behavior is more intense, occurs more frequently, and interferes with their ability to learn and form positive relationships with peers and significant adults. Persistent mental and behav¬ioral problems, especially those beginning in early childhood, can lead to a lifelong downward trajectory of antisocial behaviors. These difficulties can affect an individual's social development, educational attainment, employment opportunities, and risk of engaging in criminal activities.  

Join us on this call to learn more about key issues related to mental health in early childhood. We will also discuss innovative approaches geared toward fostering healthy social, emotional, and psychological development in young children to prevent preschool expulsions, to help them succeed in school, and to improve the systems of care available to serve them and their families.          

Resources:

Community Health Foundation of Western and Central New York

The Right Start Quality Improvement Collaborative

The Early Childhood Connections Pilot Program              

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.