A Strategic “Field Building” Approach to Advocacy Investments - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

A Strategic “Field Building” Approach to Advocacy Investments

September 20, 2012 3:00 pm Eastern Time

A Strategic “Field Building” Approach to Advocacy Investments
GIH Public Policy Strategies Audioconference Series Co-hosted with Grantmakers for Effective Organizations

When:
Thursday, September 20, 2012 3:00 p.m. Eastern/2:00 p.m. Central/1:00 p.m. Mountain/Noon Pacific

Who:  
Tanya Beer, Center for Evaluation Innovation
Nancy B. Csuti, The Colorado Trust
Deborah Schachter, New Hampshire Charitable Foundation

What:
Rather than focusing on short-term policy objectives, grantmakers are increasingly striving to build the entire field of policy advocacy in order to ensure long-term relevance and effectiveness. These strategic investments seek to develop sustainable, adaptive advocacy capacity capable of responding to complex political dynamics, shaping the policy agenda, and advancing a variety of evolving policy goals now and into the future.   This “field building” approach to advocacy grantmaking demands a new way of thinking about how to structure funding, which grantees to select, what role the program officer fills with partners and allies, and what outcomes and signals of progress to measure.  This webinar examined the key dimensions of a strong advocacy field, reviewed how funders can diagnose gaps or weaknesses in an integrated field, and explored grantmaking strategies that help grantees contribute to and benefit from the field’s collective capacity.

 

Webinar Archive

Log in to the Funding Partner Portal to access archived webinars.

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.