The Food Safety Modernization Act - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

The Food Safety Modernization Act

February 13, 2013 2:00 pm Eastern Time


February 13 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern/1:00 p.m. Central/Noon Mountain/11:00 a.m. Pacific


  • Marion Standish, The California Endowment
  • Ariane Lotti, National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition
  • Brian Snyder, Pennsylvania Association for Sustainable Agriculture
  • Angie Tagtow, Environmental Nutrition Solutions


Short-sighted food safety regulation focused on the immediate public health and food safety concerns of today could have devastating long-term effects and unintended consequences.  Steps need to be taken to ensure that such regulations protect public health while also ensuring farmers of diverse scales can stay in business. In 2010, Congress passed the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) -- the first major overhaul to our nation's food safety laws since the 1930s.  With the aim of improving food safety, Congress included a number of key provisions to ensure that regulations work for sustainable food and agriculture systems. Join us to learn how the FSMA and pending FDA regulations will affect local and regional food systems that are vital to the public’s health now and in the future.


To RSVP, please email by February 11th. 



Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
GIH Connect

Connect with GIH to learn, collaborate, and grow through education, networking, and leadership opportunities.

Sign Up
Sign up for the GIH Bulletin to stay on top of news from the field.

Funding Partner Portal Login
Login to access exclusive Funding Partner resources from GIH.