What Natural Disasters Could Mean for Water, Agriculture, and Health - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

What Natural Disasters Could Mean for Water, Agriculture, and Health

December 13, 2013 1:00 pm Eastern Time

When:
Friday, December 13 at 1:00 p.m. Eastern/12:00 p.m. Central/11:00 a.m. Mountain/10 a.m. Pacific

Who:

  • Jeff Willett, Kansas Health Foundation
  • Tim Griffin, Tufts University
  • Matteo Convertino, University of Minnesota
  • Susan Stover, Kansas Water Office

What:

Please join us for part two of a two-part Creating Common Ground series on water, agriculture, and health. This webinar will discuss the devastating impacts natural disasters have on communities across the world, focusing on examples of various natural disasters in the United States, and what these disasters have meant or could mean for food security, the environment, and human health.

Tim Griffin will discuss food producers' and human health concerns related to increasing disasters, such as severe storms and flooding, and will outline what can be done to improve human health and protect the long-term viability of America’s food supply and ecosystems. Matteo Convertino will discuss how mathematical models can be used to assess multi-disciplinary issues like the interrelationship between water, human health, and agriculture. He will focus on his recent research on levees and how it the “One Health” concept – the close interrelation between human health and the environment. Susan Stover will bring the dialogue to a concrete example by discussing how drought is impacting Kansas, some innovative approaches to managing water use within agricultural communities, and some of the policy changes that are needed at the federal level to support such efforts on the ground.

To register, e-mail huyen@safsf.org.

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.