Promoting the National Prevention Strategy - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

Promoting the National Prevention Strategy

October 13, 2011 2:00 pm Eastern Time

A Special Call for the Public Health Funders Network  

When:
October 13, 2011 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 12:00 p.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m. Pacific  


What:
When the National Prevention Strategy (NPS) was released in June 2011, the Surgeon General called on the nation to join in assuring its implementation. The NPS urges multiple sectors at all levels of society to incorporate its vision for a healthier America.

To help promote the vision of prevention articulated in the NPS – as well as to educate Americans about the other prevention components of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) – the Surgeon General is planning to hold a number of forums around the country. Over the next 12 months, meetings are planned in each of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' 10 regions. The goal of these events are to: 1) familiarize various constituencies (within public health and those representing the other Prevention Council agency constituencies) with the NPS, 2) encourage the replication of the NPS process at the state and local levels, 3) highlight successful prevention initiatives already underway, and 4) encourage local leaders to reach out to their constituencies about the new preventive services benefits already available under the ACA.   

On this funder-led conference call, participants learned about the NPS and had an active discussion about what funders can do to support the regional meetings, as well as the activities inspired by their convening.

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.