Loading Events

Details

Date:
Friday, April 27, 2012
Time:
1:00 pm EDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
Issue Area:

GIH Health Reform Resource Center

When

Friday, April 27, 2012 at 1:00 p.m. Eastern / 12:00 p.m. Central / 11:00 a.m. Mountain / 10:00 a.m. Pacific

Who

  • George Thibault, The Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation
  • Frederick Chen, Bureau of Health Professions, Health Resources and Services Administration
  • Malcolm Cox, Veterans Health Administration
  • Maryjoan Ladden, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

What

Health professions have historically provided classroom and clinical experiences that focus on learning a specific profession to ensure that its graduates are competent and trained in providing care for patients. However, health care reform requires changes in care delivery, with a focus on interprofessional, team-based care.

To advance the team-based practice approach providers must be informed and trained properly to meet the capacity and quality that the transformed delivery system will demand. Interprofessional education can create a cadre of trained providers who are ready to engage in team-based care within a culture that supports collaboration. Key considerations include: developing interprofessional faculty training, disseminating resource information to educators and students, identifying areas of research and evaluation necessary to support this approach, communicating the value of the work, and creating and supporting new collaborative practice models to make it happen.

In this webinar, participants discussed the importance of interprofessional team-based education in transforming the health care delivery system and learned more about funders already supporting this work.

**This webinar was made possible by generous contributions to the GIH Health Reform Resource Center Fund. For a full list of the foundations that have supported the fund since its launch, click here.**

Related Content

Share this