Access to this content is one of many benefits exclusive to GIH Funding Partners and Philanthropy Support Partners.

If you are a staff member or trustee at a GIH Funding Partner organization, click the β€œSign In” button below to log in or to create a GIH account. If you would like to learn more about joining the GIH network, click here.

Sign In

Funder Briefing: Policy, Funding Opportunities, and Approaches that Advance Food is Medicine

September 20, 2022

2:30-4:00 PM ET | 1:30-3:00 PM CT | 12:30-2:00 PM MT | 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM PT

Cosponsored by Grantmakers In Health and Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems Funders

Food is medicine is an approach to addressing nutrition and diet-related illnesses, ranging from produce prescription programs to medically tailored meals to screening for food insecurity in health care settings. Since the COVID-19 pandemic, the growing recognition of the connection between health and nutrition security has opened new opportunities for philanthropy and its partners to work with health care systems to address a myriad of food-related issues. We convened for a funder briefing and conversation about policy opportunities and approaches to advance food is medicine that features funders who support this work and experts from the field working to increase the integration of specific food and nutrition interventions in our health care systems. Speakers included Merry Davis of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Foundation, Diana Johnson of Rockefeller Foundation, Brent Ling of Wholesome Wave, and Maria Elena Rodriguez of DAISA Enterprises.