The Mental Health Impact of Intimate Partner Violence - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

The Mental Health Impact of Intimate Partner Violence

December 14, 2010 2:00 pm Eastern Time

GIH Mental Health Audioconference Series 

When: 
Tuesday, December 14, 2010 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 12:00 p.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m. Pacific 


Who: 
Dr. Carole Warshaw and Dr. Terri Pease, National Center on Domestic Violence, Trauma, and Mental Health 

Cynthia P. Hayes, Missouri Foundation for Health 

What: 
In the United States, one in every four women will experience intimate partner violence, also known as domestic violence, in her lifetime. Research has consistently demonstrated that domestic violence has adverse mental health consequences for both adult survivors and their children. It has also documented the high rates of abuse among women seen in mental health settings, particularly women living with a psychiatric disability. Yet, the systems to which survivors turn are frequently unprepared to address the range of issues they face in accessing safety, recovering from trauma, and restoring their lives. 


On this webinar, Carole Warshaw and Terri Pease of the National Center on Domestic Violence, Trauma, and Mental Health presented culturally relevant and trauma-informed strategies for responding to survivors who are experiencing the mental health effects of domestic violence and other lifetime trauma, with a special emphasis on the role of grantmakers. In addition, Cynthia Hayes shared insights drawn from her experience working with the Missouri Foundation for Health, a funder in this area. 


 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.