The Transformational Power of the Arts in Healthy Aging - Webinars- GIH Skip Navigation

The Transformational Power of the Arts in Healthy Aging

July 22, 2013 2:00 pm Eastern Time

Cosponsored by The John A. Hartford Foundation; Grantmakers In Aging; Grantmakers in the Arts; the National Center for Creative Aging; and GIH

When:

Monday, July 22 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 12:00 p.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m. Pacific

Who:

  • Anne Basting, TimeSlips Creative Storytelling
  • David Leventhal, Mark Morris Dance Group

What:

What is the unique power of the arts to foster growth and expression at times of physical and emotional challenges? This question is being asked by researchers, philanthropists, and aging services providers across the globe. Drawing on their extensive experience as artists and teachers, Anne Basting and David Leventhal will share their perspectives on ways the arts--theater and dance in particular--foster community, create a sense of purpose, and nurture skills of expression and communication in older adults.

This webinar will begin with an overview of the unique benefits of rigorous arts practice as it relates to aging. Basting and Leventhal support their points through case studies related to their own award-winning programs--Basting's TimeSlips Creative Storytelling and the Mark Morris Dance Group's Dance for PD (Parkinson's disease) program. The conversation concludes with a focus on recommendations for sustainable replication of best practices in large and small communities across the country before opening for questions.

RSVP:

 Click here to register.

 

 

Print Print   Share Share   RSS RSS
Funding Partner Portal

Engage with GIH using our newly improved Funding Partner portal!

Get started:
Reset your Password
Then click here to Log in.