Loading Events

Details

Date:
Thursday, June 20, 2013
Time:
3:00 pm EDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
Issue Area:

When:

Thursday, June 20 at 3:00 p.m. Eastern / 2:00 p.m. Central / 1:00 p.m. Mountain / 12:00 p.m. Pacific

Who:

  • Pamela S. Hyde, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
  • Diane Littlefield, Sierra Health Foundation
  • Carolyn Lukensmeyer, National Institute for Civil Discourse at the University of Arizona

What:

Following the tragedy in Newtown, Connecticut, the Obama Administration announced a national initiative to increase awareness of mental health and reduce the stigma that too often prevents people from seeking care. The National Dialogue on Mental Health is an interagency effort to encourage a public discourse on mental health issues, to promote mental and emotional health, and to identify local strategies to reduce negative attitudes and help individuals in need of access to treatment. The goal of the initiative is to provide youth and adults accurate information about the prevention and treatment of mental health conditions coupled with open spaces to tell their stories, ask for help, share successes, and support one another.

Related Content

Share this